Skip to content

Hello!!

April 5, 2010

Finally… starting off on this journey!

I am Priya, a software tester by profession. I landed a software testing job by some strange coincidence of events… but stranger is the fact that I seem to understand and know testing intuitively. I do not have an engineering background and have never attended any testing course either!! I just went with the flow.. and I learnt and imbibed stuff quickly as though they were never alien to me. Earlier on, I got interested in Agile methods and read a lot of blogs on Agile. Recently, I have discovered some blogs on software testing and they are just too good to ignore… I’m not mentioning them right now.. but I’ll make a neat blogroll in time..as this blog evolves. 

Though I write a personal blog  and am aware of the benefits of blogging, I have been reluctant to write a professional blog… maybe because it requires a lot more dedication and thought focus. But now I’ve finally created this blog, thanks to some wonderful inspiration on the blogosphere!! Two posts that  I read earlier this year have been instrumental in making me take this plunge. One is Rajesh Shetty’s ‘Why some smart people are reluctant to share?’ and the other is Pradeep Soundararajan’s ‘Why testers should blog?’ . These posts were insightful and made me think in this direction.. I could relate very well to what they have said/reiterated in their posts. I don’t claim to be smart or a good tester… but I realize that I have some experiences that I can share… so, here I aim to do just that.

I’m glad that I’m doing this … coz I think its ‘Better late than never!!’

I am hoping that it will be useful and insightful for me, as I go on… and maybe it will of some help to others in the community as well!! Though I must warn that this is not aimed at giving testing tips or even promoting best practices.  

And .. a few words on the blog title.  I’m a ‘test enthusiast’. I think of software testing as a thinking persons job, and in fact the process of understanding software requirements, thinking of the test approach and the exact test data… all things related to testing .. I find these interesting!! I rarely ever get bored of testing a piece of software, I am neither deterred by slow machines nor by the number of iterations I have to repeat a test in order to deliver  the right stuff, though it sometimes is exasperating!! But then again, I must admit that I have not been as passionate as the testers who do ‘weekend testing’ and attend testing workshops !! I’m hoping to do better in the coming days 🙂 For now,  I wish I’ll be disciplined enough to blog on a regular basis.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jini permalink
    April 9, 2010 10:39 am

    Way to go girl!!! good luck with this journey too! and keep the testing community inspired and enthusiastic …the line “I think of software testing as a thinking persons job” is so motivating.

    So congratulations and all the very best!

    • April 9, 2010 11:23 am

      Thanks Jinn! Glad you think that i can inspire and motivate 🙂

  2. April 21, 2010 2:42 pm

    Hi Priya,

    Welcome to the Testing Blogosphere! I am glad you decided to blog on what interests you! Looking forward to your blogs.

    Btw, Did you attend Pradeep’s Workshop in June 2009. If yes, we have met 🙂

    Regards,
    Parimala Shankaraiah

    • April 21, 2010 3:05 pm

      Thanks Parimala!
      I have not attended any testing workshop or conference yet. But hope to do so in future..will look forward to meet you then 🙂

  3. Dhanasekar permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:21 pm

    Priya,
    Nice to see another passionate tester blogging. Keep write your experiences good or bad.
    I stared blogging to put my understanding on automation for my reference and to fight against useless certification. I never imagined one day I would be dancing in James Bach’s blog roll along with my other roll models like Dr.Cem Kaner, Johanthan Kohl and Scott Barber. Neither I thought many readers like you would like it.
    So you also Keep writing and be yourself Rewards are waiting 🙂
    All the Best
    –Dhanasekar S

    • April 22, 2010 6:44 pm

      Thanks Dhanasekar, for visiting my blog.. and for your encouraging comments !!

  4. June 15, 2010 2:52 pm

    Welcome to blogging…. Its really good to see more and more girls starting to blog and share their experience.

    ~Bharath
    ticketnumber.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

